SLA Frances Morrison Award

Frances Morrison
Frances Morrison joined the staff of the Saskatoon Public Library in 1943 and was the Chief Librarian from 1961 to 1980. During the time she was with the library, she saw the library staff grow from 13 to more than 90. As Chief Librarian she directed the construction of two new branches, including the branch that bears her name. In 1981 she was awarded the Canadian Library Association’s Outstanding Service to Librarianship Award. In 1999 she received the Saskatchewan Order of Merit for her contributions to library services in Saskatchewan. In 1982, Frances Morrison joined with the Saskatchewan Library Association in creating this award.

The Award

The SLA Frances Morrison Award is an award of merit for outstanding service to libraries given in the name of one of Saskatchewan’s exceptional librarians. This award is open to all, individuals or institutions or groups, and not restricted to professional librarians or SLA members.

List of Previous Award Winners

1982 Art Forgay
1983 No award given
1984 Karen Labuik
1985 Keith Turnbull
1986 Ron Yeo
1987 Don Meadows
1988 No award given
1989 Alice Turner McFarland

1990 Constance Mae Acton
1991 SSLA – Resource Based Learning Group
1992 Ved Arora
1993 Shirley Sefton
1994 Alixe Hambleton
1995 Marilyn Jenkins
1996 Merrilee Rasmussen
1997 No award given
1998 Andrew Hubbertz
1999 Ken Jensen

2000 Marion Perry
2001 Bryan Foran
2002 Audrey Mark
2003 Isabelle Butters
2004 Cora Greer
2005 Wenda McArthur
2006 Rosemary Oddie
2007 Anne Craggs
2008 No award given
2009 Gregory Salmers
2010 Frank Winter
2011 Judith Benninger
2013 Maureen Woods
2014 Joylene Campbell

Biography of Frances Morrison

History of the SLA Frances Morrison Award

SLA Board Handbook Terms of Reference for Award

Nominations should be sent in a letter format, and include biographical and/or professional background/history of the nominee and the reasons for the nomination.

Nominations should be sent to:
SLA Frances Morrison Award Nomination Committee
c/o Saskatchewan Library Association
#15-2010-7th Avenue
Regina, SK S4R 1C2
Fax: 306-780-9447

The deadline for acceptance of nominations is February 22, 2015.

The award is presented annually at the Saskatchewan Libraries Annual Conference.

For more information, please contact the SLA office.

This page offers downloads to .pdf files. Acrobat Reader is required to view these files. You can download and install Acrobat Reader here: